István Kassai / György Lázár Széchényi: Piano Music From A Hungarian Dynasty, 1800-1920

review hungarian piano music x1 cong

We can find little original to say about this entertaining and jaunty collection of music, and we don’t want to resort to copying the sleeve notes.

The Széchényi dynasty were at the heart of Hungary’s political and musical life in the 19th and 20th centuries, and they excelled at vibrant, melodious dance-patterned music.

István Kassai and György Lázár play the pieces well and it’s all lively: polkas abound. One is the Shipowners’ Association Polka and there’s the Joyful Sounds of Goodbye Waltz and the One More March!

Kassai calls the music “delightful and enjoyable” and Lázár “outstanding and sophisticated music”. They’re not wrong.

Very enjoyable and easy to listen to, this is a little treat.

Out on Grand Piano, GP 786.


Support your local record shop! If you’ve not got one, support us (an independent newspaper) and buy this from here:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Comments (



%d bloggers like this: